PLATO - Science Conference

Have a look at the photos from the conference
and at the contributions presented at the conference.

The official website of the PLATO mission can be found at

Registration Desk will open Thursday at 8 o'clock

Conference rationale

PLATO (PLAnetary Transits and Oscillations of stars) is one of the three medium class (M class) missions selected for definition study in the framework of the ESA Cosmic Vision 2015-2025 program.

The main objectives of PLATO are the detection and characterization of Earth Analogue systems; the search for exoplanets around the brightest stars of solar type at all orbital periods and with all physical sizes; the search for exoplanets around nearby M-type dwarfs with all physical sizes and at all orbital periods, including at orbital distances such that these planets fall within the habitable zones of these very cool stars; the search for and characterization of exoplanets over a wide variety of sizes, masses, and orbits around bright stars; and a full characterization of very bright stars of all masses and ages using seismic analysis. PLATO will use three complementary techniques: ultra-high precision photometric monitoring of very large samples of bright stars, ground-based follow-up in radial velocity, and seismic analysis of the host stars to obtain accurate stellar parameters (mass, radius, age, ...).

This meeting aims to present to the general scientific community the PLATO mission, its scientific program, and the PLATO Mission Consortium, to provide a contact point to those interested in getting involved in PLATO, and to collect the input from the community for the PLATO definition phase.


  • Registration is open. A registration fee of 150 Euro will be charged.
  • Deadline for registration: January 25, 2011.
  • The number of participants is limited to 150 people.

  • Attention:
  • For the members of the PLATO Mission working groups, there is the possibility for splinter sessions before the PLATO Science Conference. This splinter meetings takes place on Wednesday, February 23rd, 2011 at DLR, Berlin-Adlerhof.

Scientific Organizing Committee

  • P. Bodin (CNES)
  • C. Catala, co-chair (Observatoire de Paris)
  • L. Gizon (MPS)
  • M.-J. Goupil (Observatoire de Paris)
  • G. Piotto (U. di Padova)
  • D. Pollacco (Queens U.)
  • H. Rauer, chair (TU-Berlin, DLR)
  • S. Udry (Observatoire de Genève)
  • W. Weiss (U. Wien)
  • W. Zima (KU Leuven)

Local Organizing Committee

  • R. Titz-Weider
  • P. Eigmüller
  • A. Erikson
  • C. Dreyer
  • Sz. Csizmadia
  • J. Cabrera
  • H. Rauer

TU logo DLR logo